St. Anthony Macau Attractions (Freguesia de Santo António) –
MACAU NORTHWEST DISTRICT
St. Anthony Parish (Port. Freguesia de Santo António) is a freguesia on the western portion of the Macau Peninsula. The district includes Sha Gong (沙崗); San Kio (新橋); and Patane (沙梨頭).
It has the highest population density in Macau (98,776 persons per km²). The entire area is reclaimed from the sea. It is north of Cathedral Parish, south of Our Lady Fatima Parish, west of St. Lazarus Parish, and east of Inner Harbour.
Ruins of the Church of St. Paul
St Paul’s Mother of God Church was a 16th-century cathedral in Macau. Today, with 66 stone steps leading to the facade, the ruins of the church are Macau’s most famous tourist site. Built from 1582 to 1602 by the Jesuit Order, St Paul College Cathedral was the largest Christian church in Asia at the time, and the royalty of Europe vied with each other to bestow upon the Cathedral the best gift.
The construction of Mount Fortress was initiated by the Jesuits in 1617 and completed in 1626. Mount Fortress was once a principal military facility and was one of the city’s strongest defence points. In the centre of the top platform, there was a 3-storey tower fitted with cannons on each floor.
Macau Museum inside the Mt. Fortress
For a traveler with only a short duration of stay in Macau and would like to visit at most one or two museums, the Museum of Macau should be the one on the top of the list. There’s no better way to experience and to learn about Macau – its culture, its history, and its people, than to pay a visit to the Museum of Macau, and be amazed by the richness of Macau’s culture.
Museum and Crypt of Sacred Art
Located at the bottom end of the inner area of the Ruins of St. Paul’s is the Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt. It was built where the old College of the Mother of God and Church of St. Paul were previously located. The Museum of Sacred Art, together with the Crypt, is reminiscent of the rich and vivid history of the missions in this region of China, whose main source was precisely the College of St. Paul.
Old City walls
In order to protect the city from foreign aggression, the Portuguese attempted
to construct military defences. In as early as 1569, the Portuguese settlers
began building a kind of palisade around the city. These old city wall structures were very fragile and were dismantled
by the Ming authorities several times.
St Anthony Catholic Church
St Anthony Catholic Church is consider to be the very first church of Macau. The original church was built in 1588. The present church dates back to 1930 and 1950 remodelling. Saint Anthony is the favourite Saint of seamen. Sometime in Macau history the Saint was entrusted with the government of Macau during his feast day. Accordingly the statue of the saint was carried on platform by a regiment of soldiers.
Camoes Garden and Grotto
Praca Luis de Camoes. Luis de Camoes Garden is one of the largest parks in Macau. Cameos Grotto is the most famous scenic spot in this garden. After riling the court officials, Luis de Camoes was exiled to Macau and lived in this cave where later he finished the national epic Os Lusiadas.
As Portugal’s greatest poet, Luis de Camoes composed his national epic “Os Lusiadas” to chronicle the great Portuguese explorations that
created the world’s first globe-girdling empire.
Morrison Hill Chapel
Morrison Protestant Chapel is located inside the Protestant cemetery where 150 British and American graves recall the days of the foreign trading and naval presence in Macau. Situated on the edge of the Camoes Gardens and adjoining the stately mansion of the Fundacao Oriente, the Chapel serves as a focus for Macau’s English speaking
The Old Macau Protestant Cemetery is situated directly to the east of the Praca Luis de Camoues and can be reached by walking north and downhill from the Ruins of St. Paul’s Cathedral. This is a fascinating little cemetery filled with the graves of Protestants who either died or passed through Macau since 1814.
Casa House (Orient Foundation Gallery);
First built in 1770, the Casa Garden was originally the villa of the wealthy merchant Manuel Pereira who was a member of the Portuguese royal family. Periera was a consultant of the royal court’s finance and one of the members of the Macau Insurance Company. At a later period the Casa Garden was rented out to the Macao Branch of the English East India Company as a residence for commercial directors, taipans and high-ranking British officers stationed
in China. The mansion was probably the most lavish villa ever built in Macao.
Macau Fire Services Museum
The Macau Fire Services Museum is located at the Headquarters of the Macau Fire Services; both of which are conveniently located next to the Kiang Wu Hospital, making it easy to find. However, it’s also difficult to go there because it’s in an area that’s not exactly a famous tourist spot.
Macau’s Inner Harbour is also known as the Northern Macau Peninsula. The area was once Macau’s main commercial district (see photo). Today, Inner Harbour is a transportation hub, with boats heading out to Shenzhen and Wanzai across the Inner Harbour in Zhuhai of China. Encompassing everything northward from Luis de Camoes Garden in the west and Guia Fort in the east to the border with the mainland, Macau Inner Harbour area offers many attractive sites for tourists to visit.
Ponte 16 Hotel and Casino
Situated on Macau’s picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city at the heart of the charming historical quarter, and within walking distance of St. Paul’s Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino, and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of “art de vivre”. The hotel has easy access to the major points of arrival.
The white rhinestone glove worn by Michael Jackson for his moonwalk debut is locked in the memories of fans all over the world and acts as a magnet for the MJ Gallery in Ponte 16. Worn on the left hand of the pop legend as he performed one of recent history’s greatest songs – ‘Billie Jean’ – the white glove is among the King of Pop’s 40-plus treasures exhibited together for the very first time.
Ye Ting House
In the forecourt of the Former Home of Revolutionary Leader Ye Ting, in which he lived for seven years, stand bronze statues of him, his wife and children sculpted by local artist Wong Kar Long. Various photographs of Ye Ting family members on display inside the house add a very direct dimension to the history-laden building, whose façade has been accurately and sensitively restored. Following this first phase of restoration, the Cultural Affairs Bureau plans to enlarge and further restore the interiors of the house in order to leave a legacy for future generations.